The Kiez, the Spandauer Vorstadt

Berlin's first mention was in the middle of the 12th century. After the Thirty Years' War (1618 – 48) a bastion with a fortification was built as protection, 13 gates were built around Berlin. The most famous was and is the Brandenburg Gate, from 1735 on the fortification was demolished.

Spandauer Vorstadt, formerly Feldmark at the gates of Berlin, was crossed by trade routes, e.g. towards Hamburg — Grosse Hamburger Straße, towards Oranienburg — Oranienburger Straße

The Große Hamburger Straße

is located in the middle of the Spandauer Vorstadt, which means: city at the gates of Berlin in the direction of Spandau.

Sophienkirche

Protestant parish church it was built in 1712 – 13 as a classic Brandenburg parish church. 1729 – 35 the only preserved baroque tower of the city was added, in 1892 the Sophienkirche was extended and rebuilt in new baroque style, the old entrance in Sophienstraße was moved to Große Hamburger Straße.

Jewish boys' school,

a new building was erected here in 1863, and in 1906 the present facade was built.

Portal Jewish Boys' School
Jewish retirement home,

was founded in 1829, from 1941 the Gestapo set up a collection camp in the old people's home, more than 50 000 Jews were sent from here to be deported and exterminated, in 1945 it was destroyed.

This memorial – as well as the one in the memorial of the women's concentration camp Ravensbrück – was created by the artist Will Lammert.

Jewish Memorial Grosse HamburgerStr
Jewish cemetery,

oldest, demonstrable cemetery of the Jews in and near Berlin, 12000 people were buried here by 1672 – 1827 In 1943 splinter trenches were dug on the orders of the Gestapo and this site was destroyed. In 1945 the dead were buried again, 2500 people, war victims from surrounding streets.

1786 Moses Mendelsohn was buried here

Will Lammert memorial
Deported Jewish residents, names
The Koppenplatz,

it is located at the northern end of the Große Hamburger Straße.

Koppenplatz,

here, across the Große Hamburger Straße stood the hospital for the poor, behind it the cemetery for the poor, city captain Koppe had bought land here in 1696, in 1705 he donated the cemetery, in 1708 then a hospital. This hospital stood at the end of Große Hamburger Straße, hence the bend and the continuation of the street through Kleine Hamburger Straße to the city gate.

Koppe died in 1721, in 1755 the city donated his funerary monument, which Stüler erected, it is probably the only street grave outside Italy.

Koppenplatz Monument
Koppen Grave
School of L. Hoffmann,

1902 – built in 1907, typical for his school buildings are the clock tower and many animals in the building. In the meantime the building was used by theatre groups. Since 2008 it is used as a school again – Primary school at Koppenplatz.

Hollmann Foundation Entrance Koppenplatz
School Koppenplatz
Hollmann Foundation Koppenplatz
Hollmannsche Stiftung,

located just behind it, it was built around 1850 for widows and daughters of higher officials.

The Oranienburger Strasse,

a former trade route through the Feldmark in the direction of Oranienburg, it was laid out as an army road, hence its size

Monbijou Castle, Monbijou Park

which means "my jewel." In the middle of the 17th century the electoral garden was located here, after further alterations in 1717 it was considered the most beautiful palace of the Residenz, after war meetings it was torn down in 1960.

 

Anglican Church,

in the castle park was consecrated in 1885 and used until 1939, in the fifties it was demolished.


What remains is Monbijou Park with the children's outdoor pool.
During the summer months, the open space opposite the Bodemuseum is transformed into a dance floor. Salsa evenings and tango-milongas take place here regularly.

Tango_Monbijou Park
New synagogue,

Built in 1866 by the architect Knoblauch, it was supposed to be set on fire by the Nazis, but the then district chief Krützfeld thwarted this plan. In 1943 it was badly hit by air raids, from 1988 the preserved remains were restored to stand the test of time as a reminder.

New Oranienburger Strasse Synagogue
Post Office,

at this place stood (1705) the postillion house. The architects Tuckermann and Schwatlow built a representative new building in 1875 – in 1881, the main room was used by the CO GALLERY as an exhibition space until 2014.

Parcel Post Office
vis a vis, same style and architects, destroyed in the war, the new building served in the GDR times as the Institute for Telecommunications. Today, an area with offices and luxury apartments is being built here.

 

 

Masonic lodges house,

with classicistic facade, since 1791 religious house, sold to the Reichspost in 1898. Restored in 1962, both keystones left and right of the entrances, Socrates on the left and Seneca on the right have been preserved.

Postfuhramt Hof
Postfuhramt Front, Oranienburger Strasse
OranienburgerStr_Tucholskystr_2
The Kunsthof and the Heckmannhöfe,
To the right and left of the new Synygoge in the Oranienburger Strasse are these two very worth seeing lovingly restored courtyard ensembles.
HeckmannHoefe-OranienburgerStr_Auguststr
art_yard_OranienburgerStr
Auguststrasse
Gallery-Mile Auguststraße,

This street has become famous for its countless galleries (including the gallery "eigenart", the "KunstWerke – KW"), which were mainly established here in the post-reunification period. Juta Weiz, former employee of the WBM, played a very large part in this.

Auguststrasse Corner Joachimstrasse
Jewish girls' school,

Auguststrasse 11 - 13,

Jewish Girls' School
Jewish Girls' School
Sophienstrasse
Sophia Street,

In former times it was also called Kirchgasse or Kirchhofgasse, it was externally restored for the 750th anniversary of Berlin 81987). Here you can still find small two-storey Biedermeier houses, opposite the old main entrance of the Sophienkirche is the former entrance of the Handwerkervereinhaus, in its courtyard are the famous Sophiensäle, which were unique in their size in the suburbs.

Berlin_Middle_Sophieneck_02
SophienstrKirchhofstrasse
Craftsmen's clubhouse,

Sophienstraße 17 / 18, here the new building of the workers' organisation was erected in 1905, the house served educational purposes, in the courtyard there were several large halls, the largest one held 3000 people. Because of the ban on assembly, political organizations and parties from all camps met here. In the 20's and 30's the wrestling clubs held a rendezvous, a kind of criminal society, they supported e.g. the women and children whose husbands were in prison.

Sophienstr_Church-Saels
Around the Hackescher Markt

Neue Schönhauser Strasse, Rosenthaler Strasse, Hackescher Markt

Hackescher Höfe,

here are 8 farms, at that time the largest farm complex in Europe, 1906 – built in 1907. Here one should live and work, there were many small factories, stamp, rubber and shoe manufacturers, a wax factory and the like. Today there is a mixed use of industry, cinema, theatre and apartments.

Hackesche Hoefe, Work
HackescherMarkt_OranienburgerStr_RosentalerStr
Hackesche Hoefe, Living
House Schwarzenberg,

the name comes from the novel "Republik Schwarzenberg" by Stefan Heym and is based in the village of the same name in Thuringia. At the end of the war in 1945 an independent republic was proclaimed for a few days in the village of Schwarzenberg. The place was forgotten by the Allies when Germany was divided into occupation zones.
Thus this farm ensemble is just as special in the area that is now mainly used for commercial purposes.
Occupied by artists during the reunification, it was acquired by the housing association and could be given to the e.V. Haus Schwarzenberg for use. Thus an important cultural centre in the Spandauer Vorstadt was preserved.
In addition to studios for artists, there is a highly recommended bookshop with a gallery (e.g. with unique copies and small editions of various artist catalogues), the museum "Stille Helden - Blindenwerkstatt Ottto Weidt", the Anne Frank Centre, a cinema and as a special highlight the Monsterkabinett (fantasy figures as mechanical dolls).

HausSchwarzenberg_RosentalerStr39
New Schönhauser,

Corner of Rosenthaler Straße, this street was built on the city wall, it follows the course of a narrow path below the fortification, clearly recognizable by the bend in the road. The house at the beginning of the street at the corner, the red pharmacy, Berlin's oldest, the interior decoration dates from the Wilhelminian period. The third house, the "Volkskaffeehaus", built in 1890 / 91, in the front building and in the side wing were large halls with cheap coffee bar, in the yard there was a cinema and a bowling alley.

Facade detail Neue Schoenhauser Strasse
Pharmacy Neue Schoenhauser Strasse
New Schoenhauser Strasse corner Rosenthaler Strasse
The garrison cemetery

situated at the eastern end of Auguststraße, among other things with the grave of Clausewitz,

Garrison cemetery Berlin
en_GBEnglish (UK)
de_DEDeutsch es_ESEspañol fr_FRFrançais en_GBEnglish (UK)

Der Kiez, die Spandauer Vorstadt

Berlins erste Erwähnung war in der Mitte des 12. Jahrhunderts. Nach dem 30igjährigem Krieg (1618 – 48) wurde als Schutz eine Bastion mit einer Befestigungsanlage gebaut, es entstanden 13 Tore rund um Berlin. Das bekannteste war und ist das Brandenburger Tor, ab 1735 wird die Befestigungsanlage wieder abgetragen.

Spandauer Vorstadt, ehemals Feldmark vor den Toren Berlins, war durchzogen von Handelswegen, z.B. in Richtung Hamburg — Grosse Hamburger Straße, in Richtung Oranienburg — Oranienburger Straße

Die Große Hamburger Straße

liegt mitten in der Spandauer Vorstadt, das bedeutet: Stadt vor den Toren Berlins in Richtung Spandau.

Sophienkirche,

Evangelische Pfarrkirche sie wurde erbaut 1712 – 13 als klassische brandenburgische Pfarrkirche. 1729 – 35 kam der einzige erhaltene Barockturm der Stadt hinzu, 1892 wurde die Sophienkirche Neubarock aus- und umgebaut, der alte Eingang in der Sophienstraße wurde in die Große Hamburger Straße verlegt.

Jüdische Knabenschule,

hier entstand 1863 ein neues Gebäude, 1906 entstand die heutige Fassade.

Portal Juedische Knabenschule
Jüdisches Altersheim,

wurde 1829 gegründet, ab 1941 wurde von der Gestapo ein Sammellager im Altersheim eingerichtet, mehr als 50 000 Juden wurden von hier aus in die Deportation und Vernichtung geschickt, 1945 wurde es zerstört.

Dieses Mahnmal – sowie auch das in der Gedenkstätte des Frauenkonzentrationslagers Ravensbrück – hat der Künstler Will Lammert geschaffen.

Juedische Gedaenkstaette Grosse HamburgerStr
Jüdischer Friedhof,

ältester, nachweisbarer Friedhof der Juden in und bei Berlin, 12000 Menschen wurden hier von 1672 – 1827 beigesetzt. 1943 wurden auf Anweisung der Gestapo Splittergräben gezogen und diese Stätte zerstört. 1945 wurden nochmals Tote beerdigt, 2500 Menschen, Kriegsopfer aus umliegenden Straßen.

1786 wurde Moses Mendelsohn hier beerdigt

Mahnmal Will Lammert
Deportierte Juedische Bewohner, Namen
Der Koppenplatz,

er liegt am nördlichem Ende der Großen Hamburger Straße.

Koppenplatz,

hier, quer über der Großen Hamburger Straße stand das Armenhospital, dahinter der Armenfriedhof, Stadthauptmann Koppe hatte hier 1696 Lande erworben, 1705 stiftete er den Friedhof, 1708 dann ein Hospital. Dieses stand am Ende der Großen Hamburger Straße, deshalb der Knick und die Weiterführung der Straße durch die Kleine Hamburger Straße zum Stadttor.

Koppe starb 1721, 1755 stiftet die Stadt sein Grabdenkmal, das errichtet Stüler, es ist wohl das einzige Straßengrab außerhalb Italiens.

Koppenplatz Denkmal
Koppen Grab
Schule von L. Hoffmann,

1902 – 1907 erbaut, typisch für seine Schulbauten sind der Uhrenturm und viel am Bau befindliche Tiere. Zwischenzeitlich wurde das Gebäude durch Theatergruppen genutzt. Seit 2008 wird es wieder als Schule genutzt – Grundschule am Koppenplatz.

Hollmann Stiftung Eingang Koppenplatz
Schule Koppenplatz
Hollmann Stiftung Koppenplatz
Hollmannsche Stiftung,

gleich dahinter gelegen, sie wurde erbaut um 1850 für Witwen und Töchter höherer Beamter erbaut.

Die Oranienburger Strasse,

eine ehemalige Handelsstrasse durch die Feldmark in Richtung Oranienburg, sie wurde als Heeresweg angelegt, deshalb ihre Größe.

Schloss Monbijou, Monbijou Park

was “… mein Kleinod” bedeutet. In der Mitte des 17 Jahrhunderts lag hier der kurfürstliche Garten, nach weiteren Umbauten galt es 1717 als schönstes Schloss der Residenz, nach Kriegstreffern wurde es 1960 abgerissen.

 

Anglikanische Kirche,

im Schlosspark wurde 1885 geweiht und bis 1939 genutzt, in den fünfziger Jahren wurde sie abgetragen.


Geblieben ist der Monbijou Park mit dem Kinderfreibad.
In den Sommermonaten verwandelt sich die Freifläche gegenüber dem Bodemuseum zu einer Tanzfläche. Es finden hier regelmäßig Salsa Abende sowie Tango-Milongas statt.

Tango_Monbijoupark
Neue Synagoge,

1866 vom Architekt Knoblauch erbaut, sollte sie von den Nazis angezündet werden, der damalige Reviervorsteher Krützfeld hat dies vereitelt. 1943 wurde sie bei Luftangriffen schwer getroffen, ab 1988 wurden die erhaltenen Reste restauriert um über die Zeit als Mahnung zu stehen.

Neue Synagoge Oranienburger Strasse
Postfuhramt,

an dieser Stelle stand (1705) das Postillionshaus. Die Architekten Tuckermann und Schwatlow bauten 1875 – 1881 einen repräsentativen Neubau, der Hauptraum wurde bis 2014 von der CO GALLERY als Ausstellungsraum genutzt.

Paketpostamt
vis a vis, gleicher Stil und Architekten, im Krieg zerstört, der neue Bau diente in der DDR -Zeiten als dem Institut für Fernmeldewesen. Heute entsteht  hier ein Areal mit Büros und Luxuswohnungen.

 

 

Freimaurerlogenhaus,

mit klassizistischer Fassade, seit 1791 Ordenshaus, 1898 an die Reichspost verkauft. 1962 restauriert, erhalten geblieben sind auch beide Schlusssteine links und rechts der Eingänge, links Sokrates und rechts Seneca.

Postfuhramt Hof
Postfuhramt Front, Oranienburger Strasse
OranienburgerStr_Tucholskystr_2
Der Kunsthof und die Heckmannhöfe,
rechts und links von der neuen Synygoge in der Oranienburger Strasse befinden sich diese zwei sehr sehenswerte liebevoll restaurierte Hofensembles.
HeckmannHoefe-OranienburgerStr_Auguststr
Kunsthof_OranienburgerStr
Auguststraße
Galerie-Meile Auguststraße,

Bekannt geworden ist diese Strasse durch ihre unzähligen Galerien (u.a. Galerie “eigenart”, die “KunstWerke – KW”) , welche vor allem in der Nachwendezeit hier entstanden. Einen Sehr großen Anteil daran hatte Juta Weiz, ehemalige Mitarbeiterin der WBM.

Auguststrasse Ecke Joachimstrasse
Jüdische Mädchenschule,

Auguststraße 11 – 13,

JuedischeMaedchenschule
JuedischeMaedchenschule
Sophienstraße
Sophienstraße,

früher hieß sie auch Kirchgasse oder Kirchhofgasse, sie wurde zur 750 Jahrfeier Berlins 81987) äußerlich restauriert. Hier befinden sich noch kleine zweistöckige Biedermeierhäuser, gegenüber dem alten Haupteingang der Sophienkirche befindet sich der ehemalige Eingang des Handwerkervereinshauses, auf seinem Hof befinden sich die berühmten Sophiensäle, die in ihrer Größe in der Vorstadt einmalig waren.

Berlin_Mitte_Sophieneck_02
SophienstrKirchhofstrasse
Handwerkervereinshaus,

Sophienstraße 17 / 18, hier entstand der Neubau der Arbeiterorganisation 1905, das Haus diente Bildungszwecken, auf dem Hof befanden sich mehrere große Säle, der größte fasste 3000 Personen. Wegen des Versammlungsverbotes trafen sich hier politische Organisationen und Parteien aller Lager. In den 20iger und 30iger Jahren gaben sich die Ringervereine ein Stelldichein, eine Art Verbrechergesellschaft, sie unterstützten z.B: die Frauen und Kinder deren Männer im Knast saßen.

Sophienstr_Kirche-Saele
Rund um den Hackeschen Markt

Neue Schönhauser Strasse, Rosenthaler Strasse, Hackescher Markt

Hackesche Höfe,

hier befinden sich 8 Höfe, damals die größte Hofanlage Europas, 1906 – 1907 erbaut. Hier sollte man wohnen und arbeiten, es gab viele kleine Fabriken, Stempel-, Gummi- und Schuhhersteller, eine Wachsfabrik u.ä. Heute gibt es eine Mischnutzung von Gewerbe, Kino, Theater und Wohnungen.

Hackesche Hoefe, Arbeiten
HackescherMarkt_OranienburgerStr_RosentalerStr
Hackesche Hoefe, Wohnen
Haus Schwarzenberg,

der Name stammt ab von dem Roman “Republik Schwarzenberg” von Stefan Heym und handelt im gleichnamigen Ort in Thüringen. Zum Kriegsende 1945 wurde für einige Tage im Ort Schwarzenberg einen unabhängige Republik ausgerufen. Der Ort wurde bei der Aufteilung Deutschlands in Besatzungszonen von den Aliierten vergessen.
So stellt dieses Hofensemble genauso eine Besonderheit in dem dem doch mittlerweile überwiegend kommerziellen genutzten Gebiet dar.
In der Wendezeit besetzt von Künstlern, wurde es von der Wohnungsbaugesellschaft erworben und konnte dem e.V. Haus Schwarzenberg zur Nutzung überlassen werden. Somit blieb ein wichtiges kulturelles Zentrum in der Spandauer Vorstadt erhalten.
Neben Ateliers für Künstler befinden sich dort eine sehr empfehlenswerte Buchhandlung mit einer Galerie ( z.B. mit Unikaten und Kleinstauflagen von verschiedenen Künstlerkatalogen), das Museum “Stille Helden – Blindenwerkstatt Ottto Weidt”, das Anne Frank Zentrum, ein Kino und als besonderes Highlight das Monsterkabinett (Phantasiegestalten als mechanischen Puppen).

HausSchwarzenberg_RosentalerStr39
Neue Schönhauser,

Ecke Rosenthaler Straße, diese Straße wurde an der Stadtmauer gebaut, sie folgt dem Verlauf eines schmalen Pfades unterhalb der Befestigung, deutlich am Straßenknick zu erkennen. Das Haus am Anfang der Straße an der Ecke, die rote Apotheke, Berlins älteste, die Inneneinrichtung stammt aus der Gründerzeit. Das dritte Haus, das 1890 / 91 gebaute “Volkskaffeehaus”, im Vorderhaus und im Seitenflügel waren große Hallen mit billigem Kaffeeausschank, im Hof gab es ein Kino und einen Kegelbahn.

Fassadendetail Neue Schoenhauser Strasse
Apotheke Neue Schoenhauser Strasse
Neue Schoenhauser Strasse Ecke Rosenthaler Strasse
Der Garnisionsfriedhof

am Ostende der Auguststraße gelegen, u.a. mit dem Grab von Clausewitz,

Garnisionsfriedhof Berlin
de_DEDeutsch
en_GBEnglish (UK) es_ESEspañol fr_FRFrançais de_DEDeutsch